The 2nd Annual Ottawa ComicCon

It’s that time of the year again here in Ottawa. The tulips are blooming, the skies are blue and recently our fair city’s fangirls and fanboys – including yours truly – donned their capes, masks and spandex underwear and headed to the second annual Ottawa ComicCon.

ComicConLogo

Last year was a blast, and this year was no different. I made the trek (no pun intended) with several of my fellow nerds/Corel employees. This year, a crowd of over 30,000 geeks, comic book nuts and cosplayers showed up to celebrate all things sci-fi and fantasy. A lot of the people I spoke with were there to check out the various TV and film celebrities, including Nathan Fillion (of Firefly and Castle fame), Gillian “Whatchu Talkin’ ‘Bout Mulder?” Anderson (of The X-Files), Levar “Reading Rainbow” Burton (from Star Trek: The Next Generation), plus geek favorites Wil Wheaton and Felicia Day, not to mention Lando Calrissian himself, Mr. Billy Dee Williams.

This year was also a little different for me though, since I decided to take my six-month old son Iggy along with me (hey, you’ve got to indoctrinate them into the geek life early). I also donned a costume myself, becoming the masked avenger known only as… NERD MAN!

ComicCon 2Nerd man and son rocking the Ottawa ComicCon. Photo courtesy of the Ottawa Citizen.

Once we got in inside, we discovered a veritable geektopia of comic books, t-shirts and toys. Of course, you could also wait in line to snag an autograph or mug for the camera next to your favorite celebrity (for a small fee, of course). I decided to hit up Artists’ Alley to snag some original prints and t-shirts. It turns out there were even a few creators on hand that I spoke with who used CorelDRAW and Painter.

In particular, I snagged a t-shirt from Robot Punch Apparel, a local Ottawa clothing line that incorporates retro sci-fi themes into their works. They have some very cool designs that walk a fine line between being pretty geeky and being something that you can probably wear without getting too many stares.

I also checked out some original vinyl creations from the good peeps at Washy Kong. They even took Iggy and I’s pictures to throw up on their Facebook page (after all, it’s not every day that you see a dude wearing a superhero outfit pushing a baby stroller).

I gotta say, it was really cool to see these designers and artists in action. There really are a ton of extremely talented individuals here in Ottawa and around the world who are making some impressive art – with a nerd-friendly touch of sci-fi and fantasy.

ComicCon 1Stormpooper meets Stormtrooper.

After a day wandering around through the packed throngs of geekdom with a six-month old baby (you haven’t lived until you’ve changed a full diaper while wearing a superhero cape), I was pretty burned out. That being said, it was an unbelievable day. I scored some amazing swag, met some incredibly awesome people and – best of all – got the chance to share my love of all things geek with the next generation. Thanks for coming along for the ride, Iggy. Nerd Man… awaaaaaaaaaaay!

Are you a sci-fi and comic book fan? Post links to your photos, videos and art below!

About Adam Volk

My name is Adam and I'm a copywriter with Corel’s Marketing Department. In a past life, I've been employed as a book editor, journalist and video game screenwriter. I enjoy reading, biking and cheesy 80s action movies. I can neither confirm nor deny rumors that I am a massive nerd.
This entry was posted in Just for fun, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

