Lost in Space Covered in Paint: Creating one-of-a-kind art

Eliana

Side Tracked
Life gets busy and being a creative person makes it even busier. I don’t go to work 9 to 5 and then get to come home and play. I work all the time but for me it’s also play. So I started down some new roads and they got me side tracked but now I’m back with some new ideas and info.

I have many digital files of my paintings that have just been sitting dormant. To be clear, many of these are living, breathing three dimensional on canvas paintings. First I digitally paint them using numerous effects like Topaz, Alienskin Filters, and Nik Filters and Postworkshop 3 plus Corel Painter 12 and Photoshop. Then I have them printed on canvas. Next step is to paint on the canvas with wet paints to enhance and bring out the features of the digital file and then to get a high resolution file made of the original painting so I can reproduce the original many times over in other means such as gift items or matted prints.

So there is always just ONE original the way I have been working. Everything else is a copy of it. I wanted to be able to create some smaller originals but using the SAME digital files of the originals. Sounds confusing, doesn’t it? How can I do that? Took me a while to figure it out also, but I did!

Here is the digital file of a real acrylic painting I have done. It’s called Sunset Terrace and the reference capture was taken at the Grove Park Inn Sunset Terrace restaurant here in Asheville, NC.

Sunset Terrace

I decided I wanted to make 5x5x2 Gallery Wrapped canvas boxes for future live and in person sales. So I learned the technique of making acrylic digital skins that can be printed on. Any color paint can be used to create these skins and it can be mixed, thinned or swirled. Using Golden Digital Grounds I can make the skin printable to go through a printer.

Skin Printer

Here you can see another one of my paintings coming out of the printer. After it has been sealed and dried I can use it to make my boxes and then paint with more paint on the boxes and seal them to prepare for sale.

Painting Together

Notice that the yellow painting is not the same on the box. Like I said, you can use anything and the one on the box was printed on more bronze paint. Below is the finished box with the bronze painting on it.

Finished Box

These techniques are incredibly fun to work with and there are so many substrates that we can use to put them on. I am playing with many materials now seeing what I like best.

If all of this sounds difficult, it isn’t. It’s just a matter of learning the materials and then you can do this with any of your photographs also. Think beautiful landscapes that are printed and then mounted to canvas or masonite and glazed over. More originals!

I teach these methods and in May there is a very special workshop here in Asheville, NC for four days with myself and Suzanne Clem-Wheeler, a famed artist from Atlanta, GA. Jointly we are the best painting workshop combined with digital art and photography that is offered anywhere. Acrylic Paint Meets Digital Art is going to be amazing. It is TWO instructors with only 6 students and it’s half sold out already!  You don’t need to know Photoshop or Corel Painter either. Just be a photographer with a creative soul and we will take you the rest of the way.

Plus a reminder since it’s gift giving season, I have discount links and valuable resources for photographers and artists here.

FREE webinar coming up!
Easy workflow for clone painting in Painter 12

The new Clone Source palette in Painter 12 is an exciting addition that will improve your workflow by keeping clone sources organized in one place. This overview will provide tips and help you understand the key points when using it.

Date: Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2012
Time: 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. EST

Register here now

About Marilyn Sholin, Painter Master

Marilyn’s philosophy is that you must stay on top of the photographic and art industry and be ready to innovate quickly. Keep an open mind and always look to the future. As she says to her seminar audiences, “Set goals and be ‘Fearless’ about what you want to accomplish.”
This entry was posted in Digital art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

