CorelDRAW at the SGIA Expo

Recently, the CorelDRAW team had the privilege of attending the SGIA Expo in sunny Orlando, Florida! I wanted to reach out and thank all our wonderful fans who joined us. For those who may not know, SGIA stands for Specialty Graphic Imaging Association. SGIA is the only international association for specialty imaging.  Their mission is to provide imaging professionals with the tools and information needed to make the best possible business decisions.

So why did Corel go? When the word “Graphic” is used in a name there is a good chance that CorelDRAW is part of that graphic output.  It only makes sense that we attend an event that represents so many of our loyal users in a strong industry so dependent on creativity.

CorelDRAW team

Everywhere you looked at the show, whether it was the massive large format printers, new DTG printers, or traditional screen printing manual machines, you saw devices that depend on someone’s creative idea to kick off the process. This all has to be done in a creative graphics product like CorelDRAW. I believe this year’s trade show topped the 21,000 attendee number, equal to the previous show, which just goes to show you that the industry is doing well. 

I had the joy of running into many of you and appreciate the time you took to come down to visit our booth.  We were very excited to have Richard Reilly, one of our CorelDRAW Masters and local Florida resident, join us in the booth for one day to meet some of you in person. Richard was a lot of fun to have around and it was obvious he was well known within the industry because people kept coming by to visit him. Richard is a self-employed Graphics Freelancer who has done some amazing work. He has also contributed to our webinar program with his most recent webinar on using special effects in CorelDRAW.

This was my first trade show representing Corel over my 15 years at the company, so I was extremely excited to attend this year as rookie participant. Having recently moved over to the CorelDRAW team, I have been given the opportunity to represent the greatest graphics product out there, in my humble opinion, and to get out there and meet you, the users, helped validate this.

You’ve heard the term “to wear the uniform,” well I was pretty proud to don the Corel shirt and have people come up and tell me how they love CorelDRAW and how long they have been using it. One memorable encounter was a gentleman who approached me at the hotel we were staying at. He explained how he had been using CorelDRAW for several years but had very limited budgets when he first started out as a sole proprietor running a sign shop. Now that he has grown his business, he wanted to purchase 3 new licenses of CorelDRAW X6. So, he took advantage of our show special. We were more than happy to help him out!

I was also glad to have the opportunity to showcase our Premium Membership features to many of the press in the sign and garment industry. I really loved the reaction when I demoed QR codes, Font Playground and some of the new enhancements with color harmonies.

Overall, the trip went very well and even though I had to leave the sunny warmth of Florida to arrive back in Ottawa with below freezing temperatures, it was still nice to be home after a successful show. I want to thank my wonderful team for helping make the show a success, and of course, anyone who stopped by our booth. 

About Kevin Gavine

As the CorelDRAW Product Manager I am responsible for ensuring that CorelDRAW continues to be a successful product that is built on market needs. I spend a lot of time listening to customers and working with partners to ensure that CorelDRAW is meeting the expectations of all groups. I also spend time with press and sales highlighting and explaining current and new functionality of the product. I’m passionate about Corel and our customers and believe my skills and experience in project management, leadership, product management, and global ecommerce over the past 15 years at the company position me to help continue the legacy of a product built to delight our users while remaining relevant with the changing market trends. I speak English, French and Spanish and am proud to call Ottawa my home and find it to be a wonderful place to raise a family. I’m a big sports fan who enjoys hockey and skiing.
This entry was posted in Graphic design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CorelDRAW at the SGIA Expo

  1. felipe says:

    muito bom queria ter uma experiência dessas ainda

  2. Pingback: Seven Tips To Ensure Your Artwork Is Print Ready - New England Abundance

Leave a Reply

